Devastation in the flower patch

One nights wind was all it took to wreak havoc in the flower patch. I thought I had hardened myself to the knocks the weather can bring to flower farming but I was devastated when I went out this morning to this:

  
  
  
 The damage overnight was a flattened bed of tulips and the loss of 2 tunnels. A few other plants and hyacinths were crushed too. After months of hard work it is very hard to see your tulips end up like this:

  

Just sometimes like the last couple of weeks with beds of plants ruined by rabbits, slugs and wind I do question what I am doing. Should I go back to being a dietitian a couple of days a week or should I pick myself up and battle on? I love what I do, growing flowers is hugely rewarding and I love to see the happiness homegrown flowers brings to others. I can do nothing about what nature throws at us but I can work hard and I can be resilient. I choose flower farming and know as I build on what I have started more and more the small losses due to nature will be easier to take. Gardens can be surprisingly resilient too and it will be nice to watch it bounce back in the coming days.

  

Now after an hour zooming around the plot it is put back together. I tell myself I did not lose all my spring flowers and I have some beautiful jars and daffodils to go out on the stall today. It is still my dream job….

  

21 thoughts on “Devastation in the flower patch

  1. I feel your pain. I go into our nursery with trepidation after a bad night’s weather, we 850 feet above sea level on a hill in the borders. Great to see it wasn’t as bad as you first thought, my biggest problem at the moment isn’t weather (though that deters customers) but jackdaws! Have a great Easter weekend.

    Like

    1. Thanks Rona. I hope the Jackdaws don’t cause too many problems for you this year. What can you do to keep them away? It’s been another night of winds here but at least the remaining tunnels have stayed in place!

      Like

    1. Thanks Eliza for your encouragement! Nature does like to test us! It does mean no two days are the same though and you are always learning how to work with it. It is a job that’s never uneventful! I will enjoy seeing the plot bounce back in the next couple of weeks.

      Like

      1. Gardening really helps us appreciate what farmers go through every year. It wasn’t all that long ago that our predecessors lived or starved by the vagaries of Nature. At least we are beyond that, I believe!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. those tulips look so sad…. you are right I think however to focus on your own and the garden’s resilience. I hope you both bounce back quickly!

    what a pretty jarful in that last picture – I am sure it will make someone smile today as it did me!

    Like

    1. Yes the tulips in that bed definitely not looking so good but thankfully I have a few more beds of them which survived the wind so far. I was glad to still have some lovely spring flowers to put out on the stall yesterday, which reminded me what a lovely job I have.

      Like

  3. Don’t give up Catherine you can do it and you know where to go if you need help with girls to allow yourself extra time in garden xx

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  4. I understand exactly how you feel. I know exactly what it is like to get up after a gale and find the garden trashed! Take heart it is never as bad it seems and plants are amazingly resilent. A small tip – watch the weather forecast with eagle eyes and if doubt have some heavy lengths of timber to weight the edge of your tunnels down, ordinary fleece pegs will get torn out of the ground in a strong wind. It’s hard but always build your tunnels to withstand storm force winds – belt and braces most of the time, but sometimes just what you need.
    Lovely bunch of spring flowers

    Like

    1. Thank you. You are right you do need an eagle eye on the forecast. I have certainly never looked at it so much before starting Cloudberry Flowers. Somehow this particular storm got past me in the whirlwind of family staying over Easter! The tip of wooden planks on the sides of the tunnels when anticipating storms is a good one thank you, as yes the pegs do just get ripped out the ground. There is still so much still to learn so thank you for your help and encouragement.

      Like

  5. Ahah – you didn’t mention on my blog that the wedding flowers were somethng you did as a business… I read with admiration about the lightbulb moment that started you off and wish you every success. What an exciting venture – how often do you have your market stall and is it somewhere quite local to you ‘forever home’? Will this be your first wedding?

    Like

    1. This is my 2nd year growing flowers to sell. I have just done it from a stall in my driveway made out of my children’s old wardrobes! I did my 1st wedding in September last year so this will be my 2nd. I started it off just from a love of flowers and my garden and I am learning all the time as I go along! It is still very early days but people do seem to love homegrown flowers and I love being able to work outdoors and still be a full time mum to my 3 wee girls.

      Like

  6. I found this inspiring, loving what you do is embracing the ups and downs. I share your same passion and wish you all the best with your garden!

    Like

Leave a Reply

